Call the CouncilMenu

2018 Council Elections - Meet the Candidates – Wednesday 24 October

8 October 2018

On Wednesday 24 October commencing at 7.00pm at the Naracoorte Town Hall, a Meet the Candidates evening for the 2018 Council Elections is being held.


The 2018 Council Elections are being held during October and November 2018.


On Wednesday 24 October commencing at 7.00pm at the Naracoorte Town Hall the Naracoorte Lucindale Council is hosting a Meet the Candidates evening for the 2018 Council Elections.  This coincides with the posting of voting material in late October.


Naracoorte Lucindale Council has seventeen candidates standing for ten Councillor positions and two candidates for the position of Mayor.


The evening is a chance for you to find out more about candidates and their interests, views and aspirations for the community, and provides an opportunity for electors to familiarise themselves with candidates before voting.  Candidates’ participation in the Meet the Candidates evening is voluntary and at the discretion of each candidate.


Each candidate participating in the Meet the Candidate event will be allocated 5 minutes to speak and will speak in the order they will appear on the ballot paper.  At the conclusion of the candidates’ presentations, there will be 20 minutes for audience members to ask questions.  Questions from the audience should be relevant to the powers of Council such as functional matters, and strategic or policy issues of the Council.


The Mayoral candidates in ballot paper order are:

  • Erika Vickery
  • Lee Castine


Area Councillor candidates in ballot paper order are:

  • Ken Schultz
  • Julie Earl
  • Trevor Rayner
  • Monique Crossling
  • Derek James
  • Cameron Grundy
  • Alan Taylor
  • Brett Rumball
  • Tom Dennis
  • Craig McGuire
  • Ken Banning
  • Kenneth (Toby) Robinson
  • Didar Ali
  • Rebecca Smith
  • Bradley Dickenson
  • Damien Ross
  • Scott McLachlan


For those not able to attend the Meet the Candidates event, the Local Government Association website has a Find Your Candidate section which lists the Naracoorte Lucindale Council candidates and their profiles.  This information is also available from the Naracoorte and Lucindale Council offices.


Voting for council elections is by postal ballot.  This means that all election material (including ballot papers) is mailed directly to enrolled voters.  If you are on the state (House of Assembly) electoral roll or the supplementary roll, you will receive a voting pack in the mail in late October 2018.  Voting packs will contain: a ballot paper for each election being contested in the council area for which you are entitled to vote, candidate profile brochure, a ballot paper envelope, a reply paid envelope and a postal voting guide.


More information about how to complete and return your vote to ensure it is valid is available on the Electoral Commission of South Australia website -


To make your vote count, your voting papers need to be received by 5pm, Friday 9 November 2018.


If posting votes near the close of voting ensure you account for Australia Post delivery time and consider delivering your ballot papers to the ballot box at the Council Office, DeGaris Place, Naracoorte.


Authorised by Trevor Smart, DeGaris Place, Naracoorte  SA  5271